UCSC Currents online

Front Page
Classified Ads
In Memoriam
Making the News
Take Note

July 17, 2000


Ali Shakouri

The National Academy of Engineering has honored Ali Shakouri, assistant professor of electrical engineering, with selection to participate in the 2000 Frontiers of Engineering Symposium. The three-day meeting brings together outstanding engineers (ages 30 to 45) from industry, academia, and government to discuss pioneering technical work and leading-edge research in various engineering fields and industry sectors. The program provides an opportunity for top-notch engineers early in their careers to learn about cutting-edge developments in fields other than their own, thereby facilitating collaborative work and the transfer of new approaches and techniques across fields. This year's Frontiers of Engineering Symposium will take place September 14-16 in Irvine, California.

The web site for the Sequence Analysis and Modeling (SAM) System--developed by associate professors of computer engineering Richard Hughey, Kevin Karplus, and others in the Computational Biology Group--has been recognized as a "Key Resource" in bioinformatics by the Internet service Links2Go. The SAM software system is a collection of tools used to analyze the structure of DNA and protein molecules. Links2Go provides Internet search and directory services based on a topical directory compiled and prioritized by proprietary automated technology. The Key Resource Award means that Links2Go's objective analysis identified the SAM web site as one of the most useful links on the topic of bioinformatics.

Hi Kyung Kim

Composer and assistant professor of music Hi Kyung Kim has received two prestigious grants for a work-in-progress.

The first is a $20,000 grant from Meet The Composer, sponsored by the Commissioning Music/USA 2000 program, the nation's preeminent program for the support of new musical works. That grant will be shared by Kim and fellow Bay Area composer, Andrew Imbrie, who are both working on pieces commissioned by the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota (CMSM) and cellist Yo-Yo Ma. Kim's piece commemorates the victims of the Nanjing Massacre in China in 1937. The premiere of that piece will be May 30, 2001, at the Orchestra Hall in Minneapolis.

The second award comes from the Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation of the Library of Congress and the Koussevitzky Music Foundation of New York. The $15,000 grant also funds Kim's piece for the CMSM. The Koussevitzky awards are given annually on a competitive basis and are open to performing organizations or individuals and to composers. Manuscripts of the composer's works are deposited in the Music Division of the Library of Congress.

  Maintained by pioweb@cats