UCSC Currents online

Front Page
Classified Ads
In Memoriam
Making the News
Take Note

January 29, 2001


Donna Haraway

Donna Haraway, professor of history of consciousness, is this year's recipient of the J. D. Bernal Prize, awarded jointly by the Society for Social Studies of Science and the Institute for Scientific Information. The Bernal Prize is awarded annually to an individual judged to have made a distinguished contribution to the field. Haraway received the award in Vienna, Austria, in September. The Bernal Prize is the highest award given by the society, which also honored Haraway with the 1999 Ludwik Fleck Prize, given to the best book in the field, for her book Modest_Witness@Second_Millennium.
(1997, Routledge).

Silverman Memorial Fellowship

David Dabaco with literature facultyCelebrating the first awarding of the Joseph H. Silverman Memorial Fellowship are (left to right) professors of Spanish literature Jorge Aladro and Marta Morello-Frosch, Literature Department chair John O. Jordan, and Silverman Fellowship recipient David Dabaco. The full-year grant is awarded to a doctoral candidate working in Spanish Renaissance (Golden Age) literature in memory of Silverman's Jewish contributions to the culture and literature of Hispanic people. Dabaco received his B.A. in literature from UCSC in 1995.

  Maintained by pioweb@cats