Search Currents Currents Archives Contact Currents UC Santa Cruz Home Page
Currents Online

February 19, 2007

Library ceremony honors faculty and the books that influenced them

By Tim Stephens

UCSC's Honored Faculty, Honored Books Program will hold a ceremony this week in celebration of the bond between the written word and the achievement of scholars. The event recognizes UCSC faculty who have attained tenure or received promotion and showcases the books that have influenced them.

The faculty and their selected books will be celebrated with a gala reception in the Current Periodicals Room of the Science & Engineering Library on Wednesday, February 21, at 2:30 p.m.

The ceremony will include remarks from David Kliger, campus provost and executive vice chancellor. The event is sponsored by the UCSC Libraries, the Division of Physical and Biological Sciences, and the Baskin School of Engineering.

The honored faculty and the books they have selected are featured on a commemorative web site, which includes descriptions by the faculty members of the significance of their chosen books to their lives and careers.

The following faculty being honored this year:

Eric Asphaug, professor of Earth and planetary sciences

Giacomo Bernardi, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology

Robert Boltje, professor of mathematics

Shaowei Chen, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry

Luca de Alfaro, associate professor of computer engineering

Theodore Holman, professor of chemistry and biochemistry

Herbert Lee, associate professor of applied math and statistics

Scott Oliver, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry

Jason Xavier Prochaska, associate professor of astronomy and astrophysics

Hamid Sadjadpour, associate professor of electrical engineering

James Whitehead, associate professor of computer science

Email this story
Printer-friendly version
Return to Front Page