Search Currents Currents Archives Contact Currents UC Santa Cruz Home Page
Currents Online


Maintained by

award winners

From left, award winners Julie Tannenbaum, Susana Terrell, Radhika Mongia, Paul Ortiz, and Jerome Neu are joined by Committee on Teaching chair Charles McDowell, and Chancellor Denton. Photo: Victor Schiffrin, UCSC Photo Services

Academic Senate Announces 2004-05 Excellence in Teaching Awards

By Louise Donahue

Six faculty members and 11 graduate teaching assistants who have demonstrated “exemplary and inspiring teaching” have received top honors from the UC Santa Cruz Academic Senate Committee on Teaching and the Graduate Council.

The 2004-05 Excellence in Teaching Awards were presented by Chancellor Denice D. Denton and Committee on Teaching chair Charles McDowell on May 27 at University House.

Nominations for the annual honor are submitted by students. The committee also reads a statement on teaching written by the nominee, as well as a letter from the department chair. The committee looks for evidence that the nominee has thought deeply about teaching and learning, and effectively applies that thinking in the classroom.

Teaching assistant award winners are selected by the Graduate Council from nominations by faculty.

The awards include $500 in cash for faculty members and $200 for graduate students.

Faculty winners, followed by the text on their certificates, are:

Radhika Mongia, women’s studies, “for challenging and sensitive teaching of women’s studies, for difficult questions, close reading, and constructive feedback, for outstanding commitment to students’ intellectual and personal growth.”

Jerome Neu, humanities, “for inspirational and interdisciplinary teaching of philosophy, for offering intellectual challenges, guidance, feedback, and respect, for engaging students in a search for knowledge, and self-knowledge.”

Paul Ortiz, community studies, “for exceptional dedication in teaching community studies, for understanding that reading, critical thinking, and collaboration are empowering, for matching high expectations with encouragement and mentoring.”

Grant Pogson, ecology and evolutionary biology, “for extraordinary commitment to teaching evolutionary biology, for fascinating examples, clarity of presentation, and sensitivity to students, for sharing the excitement of science with the next generation of biologists.” The Committee on Teaching selected Pogson for a new award added this year, the Ron Ruby Award for Teaching Excellence in the Division of Physical and Biological Sciences.

Julie Tannenbaum, philosophy, “for engaging and effective teaching of philosophy, for fostering shared inquiry through listening, critical thinking, and self-reflection, for connecting philosophy with experience.”

Susana Terrell, art, “for exceptional creativity in teaching drawing, for encouraging personal expression along with technique and discipline, while fostering a community of artists in the classroom.”

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award winners are Krista Lynes, history of consciousness; Jo Ann Sison, psychology; Garima Vasishtha, international economics; Barbara Barnes, sociology; David Namie, literature; Ethan Arenson, computer science; Daniel Simon, physics; Oren Rosen, mathematics; Tamara Ball, education; Jessica O'Reilly, anthropology; Elise Ferree, EE biology.

Email this story
Printer-friendly version
Return to Front Page