UCSC Currents online

Front Page
Awards & HonorsClassified Ads
Awards & HonorsUCSC in the News

May 10, 2004

Staff enjoy the limelight at annual breakfast

By Jennifer McNulty

A record turnout added to the festive atmosphere at the annual Staff Appreciation Breakfast hosted by the UCSC Staff Advisory Board and Acting Chancellor Martin M. Chemers.

From left are Health Center staff members Cathy Blake, medical records; Diane Mesa, student insurance; and Hiroko Aker, billing. (See additional photos)
Photo by Jennifer McNulty

Acting Chancellor Chemers drew the names of prizewinners during the breakfast. Photo by Louise Donahue

“You are the people who help keep this place going,” Chemers told the crowd that filled the Stevenson Event Center. Acknowledging the “dedication, responsibility, and intelligence” of staff, Chemers said, “We really could not do it without you.”

Nearly 1,000 staffers RSVP’d for the breakfast, said University House events coordinator Jeff Rockwell, who made sure there were plenty of pancakes, scrambled eggs, fresh strawberries, and coffee to feed the crowd.

Live jazz was performed by the Lutz, Bowers, Jones Trio, and Chemers drew the names of two-dozen raffle prizewinners. Most of the prizes, including $100 gift certificates at eateries such as Bittersweet Bistro and Café Cruz, were donated by campus administrators.

Prizes also included a sail on Monterey Bay with Jean Marie Scott, a picnic basket for Shakespeare Santa Cruz, a bag of goodies from Bay Tree Bookstore, and gift certificates to Macy’s, Well Within Spa, and Bookshop Santa Cruz.

Chemers presented Chancellor’s Service Awards to outgoing SAB chair Rachel Huff and SAB secretary Sandy Schmidt.

“They do it on top of their regular jobs, like I know all of you do, whether on campus or in the community, and we thank you for it,” said Chemers, as he presented each recipient with the framed award.

Raffle donors included Chemers; Campus Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Peggy Delaney; Associate Chancellor Leslie Sunell; Assistant Chancellor for Operations Bill Hyder; Engineering Dean Steve Kang; Vice Provost and Dean of UCSC Extension Cathy Sandeen; Vice Provost of Information Technology Larry Merkley; and Vice Chancellors Tom Vani of Business and Administrative Services, Ron Suduiko of University Relations, Meredith Michaels of Planning and Budget, and Francisco Hernandez of Student Affairs. Ilse Kolbus and James Gabrio, director and building and utility services supervisor, respectively, of Physical Plant, also donated prizes, as did O’mei Restaurant, Nextel, AVCOR Consulting, the UCSC Office of Physical Education, Recreation, Sports, and Wellness, and the Equal Employment Opportunity/Affirmative Action Office.

Return to Front Page

  Maintained by pioweb@ucsc.edu
UC Santa Cruz Home Page Contact Currents Currents Archives Search Currents Currents Home Maintained By Email Contact